Tackling Fraudulent Clients

When it comes to having fraudulent web hosting clients, it really becomes very irritating when someone host a bank’s website with you and tells you that, his company that supposedly designed it, is not fraudulent, and they had nothing to do with it. Therefore you shouldn’t disgrace them in front of their clients and that you should go ahead and unsuspended the account. Well they are quiet bold and funny this days.

Fraudulent web hosting clients I have had so far are in the Logistics, bank, and lottery category. I guess that’s more of the aspects these fraudsters are interested in, probably more profitable and convincing. My mail server was even once victimized by a careless reseller, when he accessed his web hosting admin in his supposedly friends notebook.

The new trend now is, they don’t use free email services anymore, since that has been one of the ways in detecting whether an offer is fraudulent or not. And they love UK addresses. I really don’t know why?

The funny thing about a recent client i had an argument with, was that, he did not read my TOS, and argued that I never had them, and probably I was fraudulent. Perhaps he didn’t understand the simple English. That was stated in Nairahost.com website that it does not support nor even host fraudulent websites.

Illegal Activities: Nairahost’s services may not be used for illegal purposes, or in support of illegal activities. Nairahost reserves the right to cooperate with legal authorities and/or injured third parties in the investigation of any suspected crime or civil wrongdoing.

In fact to make it easy on my part, I take it as an obligation to forward any suspected sites of my clients for special analysis to 419 Legal. It is an anti-fraud “police” site wholly owned and managed by the Johannesburg Commercial Branch of the South African Police Services, and so far they have done a good job.

An example of their review of a recent suspected domain I hosted which was http://alliancebonds.net, was really intriguing.

Their review is as follows

THIS SITE IS FRAUDULENT FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS:

This “bank” claims to be located in the UK – financial institutions in
this country are regulated by the Financial Services Authority. This
“bank” does not appear on their list of legitimate banks.

The address is a rented office, several companies have this address and it
is likely to be an industrial estate – certainly not the premises of a
bank.

They ask for personal information to be submitted on a non-secure page.

This “bank” has no internet presence beyond their main site, and the
domain registration is recent but makes claims to be well established.

PLEASE TAKE THE FOLLOWING ACTION RIGHT AWAY:

Shut down all email accounts and web pages associated with this site, and
hold a copy for the authorities.

Redirect all traffic for this domain to the following page, to inform
potential visitors of the dangers of advance fee fraud:

http://www.secretservice.gov/alert419.shtml

Check for other sites/domains established by this customer: fake sites
tend to be created by a small number of people.

Contact the police with any credit card and contact information you have
on record: fraudulent sites are often funded with stolen credit cards.

REMEMBER: THE PEOPLE BEHIND THESE SITES ARE CRIMINALS, OFTEN MEMBERS OF
INTERNATIONAL GANGS. DO NOT REVEAL PERSONAL INFORMATION TO THEM EXCEPT
WHEN
ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY.

I am sending a copy of this message to sp(at)419legal.org (www.419legal.org
is the website of the South African Police Service and was set up to
counter all forms of Internet fraud) who retain copies of all such abuse
letters, along with sufficient header information to allow them to be used
as evidence of the date of this notification.

I am also forwarding this information to cp(at)interpol.int for their
investigative purposes.

Help us stamp out 419 scams – shut down this website! For more information
on internet fraud, please visit:

http://www.secretservice.gov/alert419.shtml

http://www.419legal.org

http://www.aa419.org

Thank you for your time. If you need more information before you can
proceed with closing this domain, please contact me.

Impressive right? Well that’s the only way to help me quickly make good decisions in relations to fraudulent web hosting clients.

So far so good, and I hope you help me too, when you detect that a website with a Nairahost whois is fraudulent in nature, please contact me immediately at support (at) nairahost.com. I would be really grateful.

This post was written by .